Best Practice Standard – 2019 Update FAQs

Posted on Tuesday 5 February 2019.

The Global Best Practice Standard for Service Desk (Best Practice Standard) will be updated to ‘Version 8’ during 2019. To help provide some further information and advice on the update, we have put together the following FAQs:


When will the new version be available?

The content and criteria for the new Best Practice Standard will be available from April 2019.
We will begin running certification audits against the updated Best Practice Standard from July 2019 onward. *Subject to change


My organisation is looking to join the certification program before the updated Standard is available, should we wait?

The short answer is no. There is no need to delay starting the journey of service desk improvement and excellence. The Best Practice Standard is the only globally recognised best practice standard specifically designed for service desks. This means that no matter what, being an SDI Certified service desk is a huge achievement that demonstrates a true mark of brilliance. Service desks will be guided through the transition to the most recent version of the Best Practice Standard when the time comes.


My organisation is Certified against the current Best Practice Standard, how do I transition to the new version?

There will be plenty of guidance and consultation provided to organisations that currently hold Certification and wish to become Certified against the updated version of the Best Practice Standard during their next audit.

We will provide mapping documentation highlighting what has changed since the previous version to allow your organisation to plan a simple transition.


What changes can we expect to see in the new version?

SDI is committed to ensuring that the Best Practice Standard fulfills its remit of supporting service desks in delivering a world class service for customers and employees alike, aligned to current and future industry trends.

You can expect a firm focus on health and well-being within the workplace, a more concise and holistic approach to performance results and management information, along with more emphasis on strong leadership in the digital age.


Who can be Certified against the Global Best Practice Standard for Service Desk?

Any organisation that has a service desk and a desire to be brilliant can follow the Best Practice Standard and be audited against it with a view to becoming Certified.


Will the schedule of the Certification program change?

Whilst we are refreshing the content and criteria within the Best Practice Standard, it is unlikely that the Certification programme and timeline will change. We are proud to say that our auditors put a huge amount of time and effort into ensuring that no stone is left unturned when carrying out assessments and audits. This, in part is what allows the Best Practice Standard to retain integrity whilst striving to help every service desk realise its full potential.



The Certification timeline currently looks like this:


If you have any further questions or would like to speak to somebody about the update of the Best Practice Standard, please feel free to get in touch.


Share This Page



close slider
  • Feel free to get in touch. To ask a question directly please submit your message using the form below.
  • Can we send you updates and offers to help you be brilliant?
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.